2012 Henry Hewes Design Awards Honorees Announced

Dual Ceremony Slated for October 29

CONTACT: Jeffrey Eric Jenkins (718-789-9025)

Ten theater artists will be honored by the Henry Hewes Design Awards Committee during the dual presentation of its 2011 and 2012 Awards in a luncheon ceremony scheduled for October 29. David Korins (Chinglish), Gregg Barnes (Follies), Brian MacDevitt (Death of a Salesman) and Daniel Kluger (Tribes) will be honored with 2012 Henry Hewes Design Awards. The 2011 Henry Hewes Awards were announced earlier this year. For the 2012 honors, 86 theater artists were nominated for outstanding artistry in 57 productions presented during the 2011-2012 New York theater season. (A complete list of 2012 nominees follows this awards announcement.)

These annual awards honor designers for work in venues on Broadway, Off Broadway and Off Off Broadway, recognizing not only the traditional categories of scenic design, costume design and lighting design, but also “Notable Effects,” which encompass sound, music, video, puppetry and other creative elements. All nominated designs must have originated in United States productions. The Hewes Awards Committee considered more than 200 productions when making its nominations.

Tobin Ost led all artists with three nominations. Fourteen other designers received two nominations each for their work during the 2011-2012 season. Broadway’s Spider Man: Turn Off the Dark received five distinct nominations to lead all other contenders. Two other Broadway productions, Newsies and Once, each received four nominations. Five productions representing a wide range of productions and financial resources each garnered three nominations. Another 16 productions received two nominations each.

The HHDA Committee named honorees in four categories: Scenic Design, Costume Design, Lighting Design and Notable Effects. As of the 2012 awards, the Committee has bestowed 281 honors on 180 artists representing 195 productions.

Originally known as the Maharam Awards at their inception in 1965, the Hewes Awards were later known as the American Theatre Wing Design Awards in honor of the Wing’s generous sponsorship. They were renamed in 1999 for noted critic Henry Hewes, who created the awards and served as a board member of the American Theatre Wing until his death in 2006 at age 89.

The Henry Hewes Design Awards Committee includes theater critics Jeffrey Eric Jenkins, chair; Dan Bacalzo; David Barbour; David Cote; Glenda Frank; Mario Fratti; Helen Shaw; Michael Sommers; and Joan Ungaro.


Scenic Design

David Korins Chinglish (Broadway)

Costume Design

Gregg Barnes Follies (Broadway)

Lighting Design

Brian MacDevitt Death of a Salesman (Broadway)

Notable Effects

(Sound Design)

Daniel Kluger Tribes (Barrow Street Theatre)



(Honorees in bold)


Raul Abrego Yosemite
John Arnone Edward Albee’s The Lady From Dubuque
Sara Brown World of Wires
Bob Crowley Once
David Gallo Hurt Village
Marsha Ginsberg A Map of Virtue
Sandra Goldmark Queen of the Mist
Roger Hanna A Little Journey
Lauren Helpern 4000 Miles
David Korins Chinglish
Dane Laffrey The Maids
Dane Laffrey The Patsy
Gordon Landenberger Restless Eye
Eugene Lee A Streetcar Named Desire
Andrew Lu Lost on the Natchez Trace
Arnulfo Maldonado Luther
Derek McLane The Best Man
Derek McLane Man and Boy
James Morgan Ionescopade
James Noone In Masks Outrageous and Austere
James Noone Man and Superman
Tobin Ost Bonnie and Clyde
Tobin Ost Newsies
Normandy Raven Sherwood, James Stanley and Jesse Hawley The Golden Veil
George Tsypin Spider-Man: Turn Off the Dark
Mark Wendland A Midsummer Night’s Dream
Mark Wendland Lonely, I’m Not
Michael Yeargan The Road to Mecca
Jill A. Samuels Take What Is Yours
David Zinn The Submission


Gregg Barnes Follies
Enver Chakartash Early Plays
Bob Crowley Once
Marsha Ginsberg A Map of Virtue
Jess Goldstein Newsies
Susan Hilferty The Broken Heart
Miranda Hoffman Godspell
Eiko Ishioka Spider Man: Turn Off the Dark
Toni-Leslie James Milk Like Sugar
Andrea Lauer A Midsummer Night’s Dream
Andrea Lauer Unnatural Acts
William Ivey Long Don’t Dress for Dinner
William Ivey Long Lucky Guy
Tobin Ost Bonnie and Clyde
Martin Pakledinaz Nice Work If You Can Get It
Marco Piemontese The Cherry Orchard
Emily Rebholz Lonely, I’m Not
Ann Roth The Best Man
Normandy Raven Sherwood The Golden Veil
Annie Simon Uncle Vanya
Ilona Somogyi Maple and Vine
ESosa The Gershwins’ Porgy and Bess
David C. Woolard and Thomas Charles LeGalley Lysistrata Jones
David Zinn Look Back in Anger
Catherine Zuber Death Takes a Holiday


Kevin Adams Carrie
Christopher Akerlind The Gershwins’ Porgy and Bess
Mark Barton Look Back in Anger
Josh Bradford Painting Churches
Jeff Croiter Newsies
Aron Deyo and Michael McGee Early Plays
Donald Holder Spider Man: Turn Off the Dark
R. Lee Kennedy Queen of the Mist
David Lander One Arm
Brian MacDevitt Death of a Salesman
Peter Kaczorowski The Road to Mecca
Natasha Katz Follies
Natasha Katz Once
Tyler Micoleau A Map of Virtue
Tyler Micoleau A Midsummer Night’s Dream
Alexander V. Nichols In Masks Outrageous and Austere
Edward Pierce A Streetcar Named Desire
Christine Shallenberg Restless Eye
Justin Townsend Unnatural Acts
Japhy Weideman 4000 Miles
David Weiner Godspell
Scott Zielinski An Iliad


Acme Sound Partners (sound design) The Gershwins’ Porgy and Bess
Mark Bennett (music and sound) An Iliad
Tei Blow (projection design) Restless Eye
Kyle Cooper and Howard Werner (projection design) Spider Man: Turn Off the Dark
Rocco DiSanti (video and projections) Completeness
Marte Johanne Ekhougen (puppet design) Hand to God
David Gallo (scenery and projections) The Mountaintop
Clive Goodwin (sound design) Once
John Jesurun (projection design) Stopped Bridge of Dreams
Daniel Kluger (sound design) Tribes
Sven Ortel (projection design) Newsies
Aaron Rhyne (projection design) Bonnie and Clyde
Jay Scheib and Josh Higgason (video and lighting) World of Wires
Jeff Sugg and Shawn Duan (projection design) Chinglish
Jeff Sugg (projection design) Tribes
Julie Taymor (mask design) Spider Man: Turn Off the Dark
Matt Tierney and Ben Williams (sound design) The Select (The Sun Also Rises)


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.